Archive for Overview

You are browsing the archives of Overview.

FIPS Validated Encryption

FIPS 140-2 is the current (soon to be revised to FIPS 140-3) NIST encryption standard for government agencies protecting sensitive but unclassified information. NIST operates a Cryptographic Module Validation Program (CMVP) that offers testing of encryption (cryptographic modules) in products to ensure they are compliant with the FIPS standard. This testing involves not only which […]


FISMA – Federal Information Security Management Act of 2002 (aka Title III of E-Govt Act of 2002, pub law 107-347) Key documents associated with FISMA: FIPS 199 – Security Categorization – [] FIPS 200 – Minimum Security Requirements – [] NIST SP 800-53 – Security Controls – [] SEE ALSO: Introduction to 800-53 Controls FIPS […]

NIST SP 800 series documents

SP = Special Publication
800 series = Information Technology Security
… more



NIST is the National Institute of Standards and Technology